Tap Dancing

I arrived earlier for the tube today, as there wasn’t much traffic on the way in to London this morning. The train arrived and not many passengers, I managed to grab myself a seat and off we go. A guy in the opposite seat was listening to his music though his earphones, could only just make out the beat, however he was really enjoying it as all of a sudden he started tapping his feet to the beat, with an occasional both feet tapping, I bit  like those tap dancers that can do the toe heal beat very quickly. Tappity tap, tappity tap was all could be heard in the carriage and because it was quite, this seem to enhance the sound. The mature woman next to me kept glaring at him, but he was oblivious as he was in the groove man.

Off at my stop and he was still tapping. Up the stairs to my platform for the next train, yep just one more stop and I am out. However the train was busy and I managed to squeeze in and was forced to breath in as no room left to get on, I know I look slim, however at 6.1ft and over 180lbs, I don’t do small spaces.  

I was wearing my double vented linen jacket and on the way home just managed to get on with a bit of pushing, however I got my jacket cought in the door as it closed. I didn’t realise at first, but my jacket was trapped in the door, just a bit. I pulled and pulled and eventually it came loose, but at a cost. The carriage doors are sensitive to being lent on, or moved during the start off. Yep you guessed it, the train came to a sudden holt sending passengers staggering and unbalanced.  I didn’t own up, but the girl next to me was leaning on the door, so I glared at her and she quickly moved her arm. This was fully explained by the driver over the tannoy stating what the sudden stop was and potential cause. Guards on the platform were looking at the carriage doors for obvious signs but found nothing. My apologies to all on the train for holding you up for 5 mins on your morning commute. I will make sure my clothing is not flapping next time.

Leave a comment